Baffled Noob, please help. Leveling question

First off Ive read the other posts complaining about the leveling system but I would honestly like someone to explain it to me. I say this because I suspect im probably playing the game wrong. Ive had the game for almost a full week, my Scoundrel is at lvl 15 and my Warrior is at lvl 10. I ran out of my daily quests and decided to buy the new Story Pack mission. Its a really cool idea btw, not to give away any spoilers. I started playing with my Warrior looking to grind some xp. The enemies were dunking on me so I switched to my Scoundrel and the balance felt better. I'm currently in the Hollows Creek portion of the Story Pack and all of a sudden all my enemies are rated Impossible. I cant even navigate the map without getting annihilated. Ive noticed this in the normal game mode as well. I do a mission from Darius and level up, I pick up another mission and its located in a part of the map I cant even compete on. 
 So my question is,.. am I playing the game wrong? Are the enemies more difficult in zones? Are they supposed to scale to your level? As far as the Story Pack goes, are we meant to complete it over a period of time while taking breaks to grind and get stronger? I guess im just trying to understand the mechanic so I can maximize my grind. I bought the Oculus Quest for this game specifically and I enjoy it a lot. Im a big fan of the Devs, the community, the youtubers, its awesome meeting you guys in game. I'm just trying to be less confused. Thanks!

Different zones have different base levels of the enemies. By level scaling, it means enemies will never be more than 4 levels above or 6 levels below you. This means if you go to the wastelands as a level 15, where enemies are level 30, they act to you like they’re level 19. Likewise, enemies in Highsteppe will act to you like they’re level 9.

You’re playing the game right, you just have to continue leveling if you want them to drop in difficulty.

1 Like