Game runs choppy

I have a a 1080 8gb video card, 16gb of ram and high end i7 processor (alienware X51). I started playing orbus yesterday and even on low settings the game has clipping and runs choppy at times. What would make this game run better or is it just that buggy? I feel like I should be able to run it on the highest settings without issue, but that is not the case at all. Your guidance is greatly appreciated.

1 Like

The way unity is used in this game is absolutely a disaster… enough said

Oculus, vive, steam, wired hmd, wireless hmd, laptop, desktop, wired internet, wireless internet, etc… more info would help narrow it down.

I have a wireless internet laptop using a gtx1060 with a wireless tpcast setup using two open routers. I have a vive using steam. My supersampling is at 1.2 and I can run ultra grfx.

I did have to change my power management settings basically all to high performance, remove all screen saver/ sleep mode options, my laptop has to be plugged in and background and startup programs disabled or turned off.(this is to run all my vr games not just bc of orbus)

Other things to consider are internet speed, firewall settings, various steam settings, when is it choppy (large groups or anytime) and have you tried using the ‘‘alternate socket’’ option when you first log on?

@Konstantine no offense but how did you use Unity in the vr game you created?..just curious

2 Likes

Thank you for the constructive reply.
The link below is my computer. I have hard wired internet at 75mb/s dedicated fiber optic line. I average about 30mb/s down and 9mb/s up. I am using oculus touch and everything is hard wired. I hope that helps