Melee Class Inspired by Until You Fall

Recently I started playing Until You Fall. It’s a melee combat VR game and wow is it satisfying to play. I would love to enjoy that type of gameplay in Orbus. It got me thinking - a melee assassin/rogue type class could be really cool.

(Before I dive in further - yes I know we don’t want too many melee standing on the mob blocking spells, bullets, and arrows. However, this is something we already have to deal with and it’s fine. Tanks learn. And if one doesn’t, they stop getting invited to your raid. If we get melee classes we’ll basically have melee/shamans on one side and ranged on the other side. It’d only make strategies more complex, which is a good thing.)

Anyway, with that out of the way - here’s my class idea:
Rogue:
Uses daggers as primary weapons
They’d get combos like warriors for added dps and utility (stun, aoe swing, de-aggro)
Their combos would include stabbing (not just swings)
Crossing your forearms in front of your face teleports you behind your target
They could also get a blowgun or something for ranged pulling/tagging.
They could use different types of poison-tipped darts in the blowgun for different effects
Lastly, maybe they have a pouch with “flashbang” or “smoke grenade” that allows them to stealth or drop out of combat or something

Talents would let them focus on either burst dps or dot.
They’d be single target focused but at least one aoe melee move

After playing Until You Fall, I’m obsessed with this idea of melee in Orbus. Please consider this! For folks with nothing but criticism for the idea, try to think of solutions instead of problems =) Thanks!

1 Like

So… this has been talked about many many many times
The conclusion that the community has come to is that with the current boss mechanics it simply won’t work
While I support the idea, I just don’t think that it would work
About the tanks learning, things like raid boss 2 would be very difficult