New Movement Type

I’m fairly new to OrbusVR, but have played loads of other VR games through my Oculus. The movement in OrbusVR feels slow, because it is teleporting/sliding, specially when compared to the size of OrbusVR maps. I think the current system looks neat in how it generates the square paths you can go to, however they bog down loads in combat (i’ve had to run away from fights I couldn’t handle in order to complete quests). But I feel like it is both too small of a jump, but also (as previously mentioned) slower.

My thoughts on a solution, or option, is to do:
1:Player holds and chooses spot to move to
2:If (spot is too far OR spot has obstacle OR spot is out of bounds)
3: Deny movement
4:Else:
5: Perform jump [slide/teleport]
(I hope this is easy enough to read. I attempted to write is in sudo style for simplest explanation)

This removes the performance cost of mapping out the area a player can move to by only calculating IF the player tries to move to a spot- it also makes movement fast by not having to wait for the movement area to be drawn. Now, clearly some limits would be needed, and here is my addition to make this system more worth while. Pretty much, this ties into adding player skills- but it could be calculated by player’s level. Whichever it is, said level would determine how far a player can move. With this, a ‘stamina’ bar could be added in, where moving more would lower stamina and decrease the distance one can travel- until stamina can be returned to normal.

You seem to be suggesting the system that is already in place. The expanding grid is a visual representation of your stamina, and movement is intentionally slower in combat.

1 Like