A single reason for many problems?

Apologies in advance if I’m late to the party on this and for the long post.

Ever since I started playing OrbusVR I’ve had various recurring problems. I’m sure I’m not the only one experiencing these problems because I’ve heard other people on voice chat complaining of them too. I’ve been putting it down to lag.

I have a good internet connection (500/75 Mbps) but I get network lag simply from the time it takes data to go from me (in the UK) to the server (in the US I presume) and back again. The physical distance is one cause and the server processing time is another. This manifests itself as a small delay between, for example, accepting a mission and seeing the mission accepted. This isn’t really a problem on a game like this, with the possible exception of client-side hit detection in PvP.

I think there’s more to this though. The kind of problems I’m seeing suggest that either the server is not replying to the client or the data is getting lost on the way. I’m sure it’s the server response not arriving because the server always seems to know that you’ve done something, it just doesn’t confirm it to the client.

The following problems have happened to me at one point or another. Some happen on a regular basis and some are more frequent than others. I attribute, perhaps incorrectly, all of these to the server not responding:

• Accepting a mission: The number of tokens doesn’t reduce. The server knows you’ve accepted it because accepting another mission reduces your tokens by 2 (see video below).
  • Completing a mission: No chest appears in your inventory. The completed mission doesn’t disappear from your list of completed missions. The server knows you’ve handed it in because it won’t let you complete it again. Completing another mission refreshes the display and both disappear.