[Accessibility] Alchemy & Colorblindness

Hi! So I just started playing, and the game looks great, but I’ve run into a pretty big problem. I can’t consistently do alchemy! See, I’m colorblind, and several of the colors in the cauldron look pretty much identical or similar enough as to be functionally indistinguishable. While I have managed to make a couple very simple healing potions, it involves a lot of guesswork and wastes a ton of ingredients. Looking back through the forums here, there was a post about this 2 years ago, but it looks like nothing was done about it. This is kinda a big accessibility problem, especially given how common colorblindness is, and would help with clarity for color-sighted players too. Fortunately, it’s also pretty easily fixed!

There’s a handful of ways to solve this. The easiest is to just list the name of the color on the side of the cauldron or something, but that generally looks pretty bad. The standard solution, and the one that I think is most effective, is to include a shape of some sort, whether it’s making use of existing magic runes or some other method. This could be done in the pot itself, as a marker on the rim, or somewhere else, but it’s important to show the shape in the recipe if you do it this way - typically by just showing the rune in the correct color in the text. You could also give some sort of audio indicator, though it’d have to be fairly distinct, so that seems more difficult.

Other suggestions I’ve seen in the other thread that wouldn’t work are non-obvious things like “how hard the pot is bubbling.” Color is distinct, easily-recognizable, and doesn’t require much extra explanation, and a good solution to this problem would be similar.

7 Likes

Hi, we appreciate the feedback and the different suggestions - I will bring them up and see how we could improve accessibility in the future for these.