Adding depth to the musketeer class

I am not very experienced with musketeer, but when I tried it I thought it was a little boring after a while. Grab an orb and shoot. Repeat. So here are some thoughts:

1. Be able to combine two different orbs into your gun to get a new, unique or more powerful effect. Now the musketeer has to learn which combinations produce what, and then do it. This may not go well with having only 4 orbs on the equip bar, or maybe it will help add more depth to the decision of which orbs to equip. I would appreciate comments from more experienced musketeers on this.

2. Be able to craft orbs. So far I think crafting has some real potential in Orbus and I love the idea of being able to tie it in with your class. The musketeer class would be perfect for this. Go to your house, throw some herbs and eyes in your cauldron and -Voila!- a new orb you never had before. Or maybe a more powerful orb of one you already have. Then perhaps tie this in with my first idea, and mix this new orb with another to blow your enemies out of the water.

However, potential issues I foresee include:

a) if orbs are crafted, how many do you have? Infinite? Or does crafting create a batch of, say, 20? Having a finite number of orbs that can be consumed could be very bad for a musketeer. I think there should be a set of starting orbs that are infinite so that you always have something, and then the more powerful/unique ones should be crafted in batches.

b) What if the player doesn’t like crafting but loves the musketeer class? I want my ideas to make the musketeer class more enjoyable, but this idea might ruin the musketeer class for some players. In this case, this issue might help cultivate a better community of people where players who love crafting can create orbs and then sell/trade them to musketeers. Similarly, an NPC could sell orbs.