Double handed locomotions options?

Correct me if I just missed something, but my impression so far is that the controls are “ambidextrous” in the sense that both hands do the same things. At least that’s what it seems like to me on the Rift.

If this is the case, I really applaud how you’ve considered left-handed people, but it’s also giving me some issues. While I don’t want you to remove support for lefties, I do wish you’d add an option to not have symmetrical button functionality.

Because the locomotion being on only one analog stick just feels absolutely terrible to me. Like a lot of Rift users I have an 180 degree play-space, so I can’t physically turn around, I have to be facing the same direction in real life at all times. Now I really like the sliding and strafing movement, it’s what feels the most natural and intuitive to me since I don’t get motion sick. But I also need to be able to turn, and right now I can’t do both. Since I can’t turn physically in real life, I have to turn with the analog stick. But if I turn with the analog stick, I can no longer strafe with the analog stick. So I either have to sacrifice strafing or turning, but I want both.

Most games since the dawn of the twin analog stick has solved this issue by having movement on the left analog stick, and camera/turning on the right analog stick. Trying to wire my brain for anything else is borderline impossible for me after almost two decades of gaming. It’s just what I expect, and I feel weird and confused when it’s not like that.