Understanding mob respawn mechanics

Hey all!

I’m posting this because i have a few issues and questions with the current mob respawn mechanics (in the open zones). While i am still new to the game, i have so far put 39 hours into it so i think i have most of the basics down at least.

Issue:

• Mobs that you recently killed occasionally spawn directly on or close to you.
  • This danger does ofcourse create some random thrill, especially if you as a solo player get out alive.
  • Often i find this happens while i am mid battle. Also i often kill red mobs or yellow elites, so there is little room for suddenly fighting more than one, leading to frustation either having to run away, or having to run back after dying.

Assumptions:

• Areas have a number of predefined spawn spots
  • Areas have a number of predefined mobs, which are generally lower than the amount spawn spots
  • When a mob spawns it picks a random spawn spot which isn’t currently occupied by another mob
  • When a mob dies, a random range timer is created until it enters the respawn process above

Cause (if the above assumptions are correct):

• Since a respawning mob will pick a random unoccupied spawn location, there is no guarantee that a player or group of players killing one or several mobs will have a safe area where the mob(s) died
  • This effect grows even larger when methodically clearing an area, as there are more respawn timers in play, and each mob can potentially spawn anywhere within its designated spawn spots
  • And even more so since some of the respawn timers may be very short. I may be wrong on this, and what i am seeing is simply mobs killed longer ago spawning shortly after in a spot at me.