Warrior troubles

So I started playing recently, and despite really wanting to like this game, i’m being put off by how, at least the warrior class, just seems to not work fairly often. Combos don’t register for entire fights, the shield bash, which I apparently need to keep enemies from activating cures and regenerates, will just decide not to work.
Recently, an enemy that I was fighting just stopped taking hits and returned to full health mid fight, still attacking me the whole time.
Many enemies require that you be too close to them to see what they’re doing to actually hit them, so that’s about half of the class’ toolkit removed.
I’m playing on a Meta Quest 2 for clarification, so if that platform just doesn’t handle the game well so be it.
Not sure if there are some settings that need to be played with, if it’s a server or internet issue, or what.

Upswings can be hard to get right, I think my only tip for that is to point your sword straight down before starting an upswing and practice lots on the training dummy. I promise you will be able to do it every time with practice.
Shield bash has a cool-down, next time you use it look at the icons on your shield and you will see that one of them went from full to empty and start recharging, don’t remember which icon it is specifically, I do believe it says in the back of the player journal as well.
You should be able to see what enemies are doing from up close, but you can also turn on focus health bars in the settings and the health and cast bars will stay within your field of vision.

Also a general tip, warrior is not a good solo class, it can be done, but it’s damage is pretty low so it’ll take a while to kill things. Finding/making some friends to party up with would be ideal.

3 Likes

I’m aware of the shield bash cooldown, what i’m saying is it wasn’t working. Unless the cooldown is a variable time between 30 seconds and a minute, the cooldown wasn’t the problem.