Casting inconsistencies; Looking for a way to make sense of it

I don’t honestly know where this post belongs. Bugs? Not enough information to say. Suggestions? I don’t know what to suggest. For lack of a better option, I chose the latter. I know this is a wall of text, but I ask that you please give it a chance.

This post is from the perspective of a new player. I’m a little over 10 hours in (lv 4 ranger, lv 6 mage), and there are some things that are really bothering me about casting as a mage. I can accept that I’m a bad (or otherwise inconsistent) artist. I can even accept that the game is a pile of trash and request a refund. The problem is, I don’t really believe either of those.

I don’t exactly know how to present my thoughts, I’ve never been very good at essays. When I’m not doing freelance 3D modelling, I’m a systems admin, so I’ll lean into my skillsets. Regarding the earlier, you’ll have to trust me, for now, that I have good spacial awareness, an understanding of sketching in 3D space, and reasonably consistent artistic ability (I’ll have videos to show that later). For the latter, a series of lists;

General Observations

• One session, I can cast, say, Affliction II, with my eyes closed. 10, 20 times in a row. Even sloppy. The next session, I can’t cast it to save my life (literally).
  • I’ve never gotten Frostbolt I to cast, ever. I can’t drawn an M? Conversely, I have never had a fizzle when attempting a portal or resurrection. Not once. They’re much more complicated, you’d think I would?
  • I’ve seen videos/posts with good runes but similar complaints/results to my own
  • I’ve seen videos where people draw sloppy crap and get nearly 100% cast rates
  • I’ve seen casters up-close with a nearly perfect, and extremely fast, casting abilities. So perfect that it made me start wondering if they were using some kind of macro (not an accusation, just an illustration).