PVP and griefer concerns

Personally, I am not a fan of PVP. While I enjoyed Overwatch before VR came out, and I like Bullets and More in VR, I do NOT like mmo pvp. I started playing mmo’s with Aion and I got real tired of being ganked by some kid hiding behind a tree. The first time I’m “ganked”, I’m freakin’ GONE! PVP set up like in The Division is great; you can choose to go to the area or not. No killing unsuspecting people.
In addition, having progression tied to PVP is deal killer.

I’m really hoping that you guys are learning from the people/devs around you; people can, and will be the biggest a__holes that you can imagine. In order for an mmo to work, there will need to be personal protection methods and space as shown in games like Altspace. I sincerely hope that you guys are not just assuming that people will be nice. I also really hope that you put in a separate area for PVP to see how it works rather than just assuming that it is what people want.

Expect and prepare for griefers, pvp is just going to add fuel to the bonfire. If you are not careful, you’ll have a few kids trying to grief an empty game. Griefers in VR are a whole different animal, I hope that you are preparing for them.

Ah! Thanks, it sounds like this is something that I will pass on. Hopefully someone else will make another mmo someday. Best of luck to everyone!

Kiel: While I appreciate (greatly) your enthusiasm for the game, please refrain from responding to posts like this and speaking authoritatively about what the game will/won’t have when we haven’t set anything in stone yet, and most of this stuff (especially regarding the PvP) we still haven’t solidified internally, let alone spoken about publicly.

For example, this: “If you want loot from a boss, but are too weak to beat it then ambush people that just defeated it.” is simply not true for the vast majority of the bosses in the game.

1 Like